Mid-Term Elections Underway In Mid Missouri

Missourians have four constitutional amendments to decide on when they head to the polls today (Tuesday).

Amendment 1 would allow the General Assembly to override current restrictions on investments made by the state treasurer.

Amendment 4 would increase minimum funding for a police force established by a state board of police commissioners.

Amendment 5 would make the Missouri National Guard its own entity to be known as the Missouri Department of the National Guard, removing it from the Missouri Department of Public Safety.

The most hotly contested amendment is Amendment 3 which would essentially legalize recreational marijuana use.

It isn’t just constitutional amendments and state political races on the ballots today (Tuesday), a number of local races and issues will be decided as well.

In Audrain, Callaway and Montgomery Counties, all of the local officials on the ballot are running unopposed.

In Boone County, voters will choose between Connie M. Leipard and Kip Kendrick for Presiding Commissioner, Shamon Jones and Bob Nolte for Recorder of Deeds, Jason Gibson and Kyle Rieman for Auditor and Dustin Stanton and Jenna Redel for Treasurer. Additionally, voters in Centralia, Harrisburg, and Rocheport will be voting on establishing a use tax.

The only contested local race in Monroe County is for the Presiding Commissioner where Curt Wheeler, Eddy Mitchell, and Ted DeOrnellis are vying for the position. All other local officials races are unopposed.

The Presiding Commissioner race in Shelby County is the only contested race on today’s (Tuesday’s) ballot and voters will choose either Terry Helmick or Glenn Eagan to fill that position.

Polls close at 7:00 tonight (Tuesday).