Mexico Bulldogs Basketball Names Season Award Winners

Mexico High School Bulldogs boys basketball team is announcing their 2022-2023 Varsity Award Winners.

Senior Anthony Shivers was selected as the Class, Pride, Tradition Award Winner.

Junior guard DJ Long was the Offensive Player of the Year.

Long averaged 18.3 points per game and racked up 126 assists.

Senior guard Jordan Shelton took home Defender of the Year honors in his final season as a Bulldog.

Shelton swiped 80 steals, had 94 deflections, blocked 18 shots.

And sophomore Jaydon Eldridge earned Sharp Shooter of the Year honors.

Eldridge knocked down 50.3 points while shooting 32% from behind the arc.

PJ Perkins was named King of the Boards. In his sophomore campaign Perkins pulled down 170 rebounds for a 6.07 rebounds per game average.

Dante Kelley earned the Never Quit Award.

Junior forward Donye Nunnelly was the Most Improved player award winner.

Freshman guard Kaden Benne took home Rookie of the Year honors. Benne appeared in 22 games & scored a career high 18 points on 2/6/23 vs Marshall.