School Board Approves Reconfiguration

The Mexico Board of Education approved the reconfiguration of the district that would send Pre-K through Kindergarten to McMillan, while first through fifth graders would be divided between Hawthorne and Eugene Field.

Board members Nate Birt, Scott Hobbs and Kelli Teel spoke out in support of the reorganization of the district.


In the final vote, Birt, Hobbs, Teel, Dustin Pascoe and Scott Nichols voted affirmatively, while Heather DeMint and Brian Rowe dissented.

The Board of Education thanked the staff and the community for their cooperation and support.

The board also discussed entering into a Memorandum of Understand with the Arthur Center to assist students with receiving mental health treatment.


Leave a Reply